In My Room…

Courtesy of the Beach Boys…

“There’s a world where I can go
and tell my secrets to
In my room
In my room

In this world I lock out
all my worries and my fears
In my room
In my room

Do my dreaming and my scheming lie awake and pray
Do my crying and my sighing laugh at yesterday

Now it’s dark and I’m alone
but I won’t be afraid
In my room
In my room”

The Beach Boys were somewhat before my time but made a comeback while I was in high school (I realize that dates me!), I got to go see them in concert in Austin, TX in 1984 I think it was. Anyway…

My Prince and Princess are still too young to suffer the angst and loneliness of being a teenager, however, our bedrooms are our havens no matter how old we are, aren’t they? Otherwise alot of companies would be out of the business of making everything from furniture to curtains, licensed sheets and comforters, wall stickers and beautiful shades of paint. While we haven’t jumped through hoops to make, say, “All Dora, All The Time”… or “Thomas the Train”… or Disney princesses… we have sort of a “cowboy/cowgirl meets Princess with some Noah’s Ark thrown in” theme. Oh wait, sort of like… life?! The kids are sharing a room as they both love/torment each other and don’t like to sleep alone, so thus the decor has to have a little something for both of them.

I just spent 2 hours doing a deep-cleaning, and rearranging of the furniture in their room. Even the beagle (who likes to join them at night to the extent that he has his own bed on the floor) got in on the action. The main goal was to get the Prince’s bed off the southeast corner, which happens to be two external walls… despite pretty good insulation, when it’s 20 degrees below zero outside, that wall is just gonna be cold!

Having rearranged their bedroom and now enjoying the subsequent feeling of pleased accomplishment, I wish I could rearrange the whole house!! Our little rancher was built in 1959 and the heater ducts are along the floorboards (1 per bedroom) so that’s not exactly feasible… but things can be moved around, like pictures, decor, etc. Sure is nice to have a new view inside sometimes, especially when, as a homeschool family, we’re here an awful lot!! Maybe I’ll head downstairs and switch out the posters in the classroom…

Leave a Reply

