Francine Rivers – Her Mother’s Hope

Her Mother's Hope (Marta's Legacy, #1)Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Loved this book!!! It shed light on possible motivations for my own family… Francine Rivers has an amazing way to understand and explain personalities and motivations. Just wonderful, I highly recommend it!

View all my reviews

2 responses to “Francine Rivers – Her Mother’s Hope

  1. I’ve actually struggled with Francine Rivers lately. I found that Her Mother’s Hope didn’t have very much hope at all. After writing my own review (which you can read at http://www.tracysbooknook.com ) I went out and read about 50 other reviews, and 50 out of 50 loved this book. I guess there’s always one in the crowd who doesn’t fit in – and this time it’s me. 😦

    -Tracy

    • Hi Tracy – I did read your review, and you made some great points! Definitely thought-provoking. I guess what I felt was that the book reminded me of the bible verse about “the sins of the father” being visited on the children… in this case, how does an almost-unloved (and definitely emotionally and mentally abused) child (Marta) grow into an adult who can become a loving, nurturing parent? She didn’t open her heart to her husband, nor did she do so to God… she was taught to follow her dreams and to expect that to somehow make her happy. If you think about it, her life was vastly better than her own mother’s and obviously, her sister’s. A sad improvement but nontheless…

      You said that Marta was a woman without hope, softness or outward caring… I think I believe rather that she is a woman who has been devastated, who learned that softness and love could be turned against you, and who struggled her entire life to provide the emotional support that she herself never received. She was hurt, hurt deeply, and knew and was taught no way out of it other than to keep trying. The hope was (to me anyway) that her daughter Hildemara Rose could do better. And eventually, she did.

      I really suggest that you read Her Daughter’s Dream… in it you find a few more of the frustrating scenes and stifled emotions… but you also find that they work their way out of it. They open their hearts more fully to each other and to God. Despite the legacy that Marta’s father began, a new heritage is forged. It’s just, well, amazing!

Leave a Reply

